My London Running Routes pt.1

Many people seemed interested in where I went running in Kampala last year, and since I’ve been running even more this year in London, it seems high time to show you all some of my running routes here.

Of course, there are many more places conducive to running in London than in Kampala. Not only are there more pedestrianised spaces, but there are also traffic laws regulating non-pedestrianised ones. Imagine!

One thing that is less interesting about my runs here is the elevation profile. Unlike my winding ascents on Kololo Hill, my runs here are rather flat, which is much more pleasant, even if it does less for training purposes.

Here is a visual tour of one of my shorter (5.35 miles if you must know) routes:

I start by running un Morecambe Street. All too often on a windy day, trash from nearby East Street market is strewn about.

I start by running up Morecambe Street. All too often on a windy day, trash from nearby East Street market is strewn about. Don’t worry, things will get prettier.

I come out onto Walworth Road by the Cumin Museum, which is still covered in scaffolding after a towering inferno two months ago.

I come out onto Walworth Road by the Cuming Museum, which is still covered in scaffolding after a towering inferno two months ago.

A short dash through St. Mary's Churchyard

A short spell in St. Mary’s Churchyard

A run through some residential streets is punctuated by West Square. Sadly, most of the pink blossoms have fallen off the trees.

A run through some residential streets is punctuated by West Square. Sadly, most of the pink blossoms have fallen off the trees.

Next, a dash through the grounds of the Imperial War Museum

Next, a quick jaunt through the grounds of the Imperial War Museum

The unsettling feeling of having to run by the giant cannons has mostly dissipated by now

The unsettling feeling of having to run by the giant cannons has mostly dissipated by now

A few turns after exiting the museum grounds, I enter a William Blake themed tunnel

A few turns after exiting the museum grounds, I enter a William Blake themed tunnel…

How Romantic...in the historical sense

At the end of the tunner is Archbishop's Park, so named because it abuts Lambeth Palace, the official London residence of the Archbishop of Canterbury

At the end of the tunnel is Archbishop’s Park, so named because it abuts Lambeth Palace, the official London residence of the Archbishop of Canterbury

But it's not until running out the other side of the park and crossing the road that the palace comes into view

But it’s not until running out the other side of the park and crossing the road that the palace comes into view

Shortly thereafter, I turn onto the Albert Embankment. Things start to get a bit more crowded here, but I'm usually able to maintain my pace

Shortly thereafter, I turn onto the Albert Embankment. Things start to get a bit more crowded here, but I’m usually able to maintain my pace

The steps up to Westminster Bridge. Helps to mix up my workout a bit

The steps up to Westminster Bridge. Helps to mix up my workout a bit

And we're on Westminster Bridge

And we’re on Westminster Bridge!

This is the section of my route where my bobbing and weaving skills sometimes prove no match for the teeming hordes

This is the section of my route where my bobbing and weaving skills sometimes prove no match for the teeming hordes

But just past Westminster Palace is Victoria Tower Gardens. In here, you would hardly believe that you’re literally right next to one of the most touristed sites in the world…

...In fact, I felt I needed to take a picture looking the other way to establish the proximity

…In fact, I felt I needed to take a picture looking the other way to establish the proximity

Looking across the Thames. Lambeth Bridge, which I'll soon cross on the right; Lambeth Palace on the left.

Looking across the Thames. Lambeth Bridge, which I’ll soon cross, is on the right; Lambeth Palace on the left.

The view from Lambeth Bridge. You might recognise it from the banner at the top of our blog.

The view from Lambeth Bridge. You might recognise it from the banner at the top of our blog.

A dash through St. Mary's Gardens right after crossing the bridge.

A quick dash through St. Mary’s Gardens right after crossing the bridge.

After a short stretch along Lambeth Road, a narrow path leads back to Archbishop's Park

After a short stretch along Lambeth Road, a narrow path leads back to Archbishop’s Park

One more loop around Archbishop's Park and then it's back down the tunnel, homeward bound.

One more loop around Archbishop’s Park and then it’s back down the tunnel, homeward bound.

Pretty scenic for such a short run, innit? More to come later.

Leave a comment

