Life in Uganda: The Good and The Bad

We’ve been in Uganda for almost five months now, so I thought I’d assess what I miss about life in the United States and what I love about life in Uganda that I’m sure to miss when we move away.

Things I miss about life in the US:

  1. Green space – The parks, trails, and lakes of Minneapolis offered peace and fresh air in the middle of the city. Unfortunately such places in Kampala are hard to come by and reserved for the rich.
  2. Inline skating and biking – I have actually seen cellphone credit salesmen navigating the Kampala potholes on skates, but cannot even imagine how they manage.
  3. Owning a car– Even though David vehemently disagrees with this one, I miss the freedom of being able to transport

    Me, on our street with our apartment building on the right.

    myself almost anywhere in a private car. It’s not even that I really want to drive here – the traffic is atrocious, but I miss easy uncomplicated transport options.

  4. Black beans – Since David and I operate a mostly vegetarian kitchen, we really feel the lack of legume variety in our diet.
  5. Christmas – This one isn’t actually as sad as it might sound. The 80 degree weather coupled with an almost complete lack of Christmas decorations, cookies, songs, even TV commercials have made Christmas an afterthought for me this year. Out of sight, out of mind. That having been said, I definitely don’t want every Christmas to look like this one.
  6. Clean Air – It seems like David and I are always battling runny noses and sinus infections brought on by the dust, smog, and exhaust we breathe every day.
  7. Consistent PowerSee David’s post below. Losing power and internet almost every other day becomes very old

    David, also on our street - we're the center of attention as usual!

Things I will miss about Uganda after we leave:

  1. The weather – 70-80 degrees year-round is definitely nothing to complain about. I love the daily sunshine on my walk to and from work, and I happily think back to my former waits at the bus stop in -18 deg!
  2. Working at IDI – I work with some of the most gentle and friendly people in the world! They are so talented and dedicated, but the thing that I like most is how upbeat the office environment is. Someone is always humming or singing in my office, and I have never heard anyone raise their voice or lose their cool.
  3. Fresh fruit – The mangos, pineapple, and jackfruit are lovely not to mention all of the awesome fresh juices.
  4. Church – The energy and passion in Ugandan churches is so uplifting. Even though I don’t always agree with everything I hear from the pulpit (like limiting women’s role in the church), the sense of community and hope greatly encourages me.
  5. Great Trips – David and I have plans to go to some pretty great places this year: Rwanda, Kenya, Tanzania, Turkey, and maybe somewhere in the Middle East.
  6. Global Health Corps – I feel so blessed to have access to all of the resources and support of GHC staff and my co-fellows.
  7. Produce Markets – Buying fresh fruit and vegetables is so easy here, right outside of our compound we can find almost everything we need for a healthy diet.

Overall, life in Uganda is good, but of course, there are just some things about home that will always be missed.

Girls in traditional clothing dancing down the aisle at church.

Children's Christmas Cantata at Watoto Church

2 responses to “Life in Uganda: The Good and The Bad

  1. Hello Faith and David,
    I”m really enjoying this blog. I found it most interested when Faith talks about being a minority. I can understand why the people in Uganda may find you so different but can you tell me why the people in Lakeville Mn. have the same mind set?:) The pictures are just wonderful!!! Especially the wedding pictures, so the next couple to get marry here will receive a basket of live chickens, who knows it may be more profitable then we think. You’re looking good, God’s Blessings …Marla

Leave a comment

