Updates from Foreign Service Orientation

It’s been one month since I started orientation (A-100) at the Foreign Service Institute (FSI), so I thought an update is in order.

1. My Classmates Rock

Around 90 people make up the 175th A-100 Class, and all are incredibly top-notch. Folks in the class have mastered many languages, started their own non-profits, been TV personalities, written books, and parented multiple children. Some are mid-career professionals while others are more recent graduates. Past employment is incredibly diverse  Рbankers, lawyers, professors, development professionals, relief workers, civil servants, missionaries, pilots, journalists, business-owners, among many others. Conversations with these folks are never dull, and I am happy to start a new career with such a supportive cohort.

2. I went to West Virginia

The Foreign Service is already taking me to strange new lands – two nights in West Virginia for some fun team building. Highlights included a mock embassy reception, where we practiced herding eccentric guests through a receiving line, and a hilarious variety show.¬†Although I didn’t get to spend too much time interacting with local culture, a poignant moment came one morning at breakfast when I asked the waitress for tea instead of coffee. Rather than ask me if I’d like it black or white, she asked me if I wanted it sweet or unsweet. Yes, she thought I wanted to drink a giant sweet iced tea for breakfast – in January.

3. We have a Home Again

For the first time sinceOctober, I have slept in the same bed for over three weeks! Feels good to be more stable and not living out of a suitcase. Beyond the apartment, reunions with old friends have made the move feel even more like a home-coming.

In an unfortunate update, David injured his knee ice-skating and is now mostly confined to the couch and crutches. At least he's got the Olympics to keep him entertained.

In an unfortunate update, David injured his knee ice-skating and is now mostly confined to the couch and crutches. At least it’s his favorite season – Olympics!

4. Friday our Fate is Sealed

Friday is Flag Day, when I’ll hear my name called and walk to the front of the room to collect the flag of the country which will be our home for the next two years. Hard to describe my emotions since the experience seems so surreal. I’m both looking forward to and dreading the day, but I’m trying to prepare myself and accept any place we might land.

So stay tuned friends, your future vacation get-away will shortly be revealed. And in the meantime, check out David and Brandon’s recent post on, The World’s Worst and Most Disappointing Flags.

2 responses to “Updates from Foreign Service Orientation

  1. I really can’t even put words to how proud I am of you and how excited I am for you! I can’t wait to find out where you two are headed for the next chapter of this crazy journey and to hear more about it all.

Leave a comment

